Railways Bill — Transfer Schemes at End of Franchising Agreements — 27 Jan 2005 at 16:45

Mr Ian Davidson MP, Glasgow Pollok voted both ways.

Amendment proposed: No. 17, in page 11, line 14 [Clause 12], at end insert-

'(3A) The appropriate national authority shall not make a scheme for the transfer of relevant franchise assets to a franchise company, at the end of the franchise period, if an independent assessment, which must be authorised by the national authority, demonstrates that the assets could be operated more economically and efficiently by a person identified in subsection (3)(a), (b), (c) or (d).'.-[John McDonnell.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 49, Noes 208.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con17 0010.5%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab189 (+2 tell) 26 (+2 tell)153.9%
LDem0 16029.1%
PC0 3075.0%
SNP0 2040.0%
UUP1 0020.0%
Total:207 48140.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Mr Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Mr Robin CookLivingstonLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellaye
Mrs Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Mr John CryerHornchurchLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr David DrewStroudLabaye
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Mr John GroganSelbyLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Gwyn ProsserDoverLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabtellaye
Mr David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive