Serious Organized Crime and Police Bill -- Demonstrating without authorisation in a designated area — 7 Feb 2005 at 22:00

Mr Stuart Bell MP, Middlesbrough voted with the majority (Aye).

Those voting Aye replaced a clause in the Serious Organized Crime and Police Bill, which was ostensibly designed to evict the long term peace protester, Brian Haw, from Parliament Square.

The new clause (number 18 in this debate, number 129 in the in the version that was delivered to the House of Lords) could be abbreviated as:

Any person who organises, takes part, carries on a demonstration -- even by himself -- in a public place in the Designated Area, if it is not part of a trade union dispute, is guilty of a criminal offence (unless permission has been requested from the police at least 6 days in advance and they have given authorisation).

The dimensions of the Designated Area were limited by 1 kilometre of Parliament Square, but its precise dimensions, which had they been known could have better informed the debate, were not revealed to the public until four months later in Statutory Instrument 2005 No. 1537.

This vote, Division 74, made it generally illegal to hold public demonstrations in the area. The next vote, Division 75, specified the terms under which one could be granted permission.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con26 25031.7%
DUP6 0085.7%
Ind0 1033.3%
Lab267 (+2 tell) 22071.3%
LDem0 31 (+2 tell)060.0%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 4080.0%
UUP0 1020.0%
Total:299 86060.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John BaronBillericayConno
Sir Paul BeresfordMole ValleyConno
Mr Alistair BurtNorth East BedfordshireConno
Mr Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Mr David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno
Mr Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Mr Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConno
Mr Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwaterConno
Mr Francis MaudeHorshamConno
Mr Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireConno
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Mr Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConno
Mr Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireConno
Mr Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConno
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Mr Gary StreeterSouth West DevonConno
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Mr Peter ViggersGosportConno
Mr Nigel WatersonEastbourneConno
Mr John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordConno
Mr David WilshireSpelthorneConno
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabno
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabno
Mrs Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLabno
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Mr John GroganSelbyLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Ms Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Ms Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Mr Jon TrickettHemsworthLabno
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabno
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive