Support For Members Who Have Chosen Not To Take Their Seats — 10 Mar 2005 at 16:29

Mr Stuart Bell MP, Middlesbrough voted with the majority (No).

Amendment proposed: (b), in line 4, leave out from "effect" to end.-[Mr. Lidington.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-
The House divided: Ayes 171, Noes 357.

The amendment is to remove the detail of which parts of the 18 December 2001 Resolution be suspended. The Resolution allowed Sinn Féin MPs to gain some of the parliamentary privileges (office space and expenses, mainly) enjoyed by other MPs, but without having to take their seats (which would involve taking an Oath of Allegiance to the Queen).

The motion itself, as proposed by the Leader of the House and the Northern Ireland Secretary, suspends only the expenses for Sinn Féin MPs. This amendment, supported mainly by Conservatives and Unionists, would have suspended all their privileges. That it fell means that the four Sinn Féin MPs get to keep their office space and so on, but lose around £40,000-worth of expenses.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 132 (+2 tell)084.5%
DUP0 6085.7%
Ind0 2066.7%
Lab334 (+2 tell) 5083.6%
LDem21 22078.2%
UUP0 4080.0%
Total:357 171083.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Mr Julian BrazierCanterburyConno
Mr Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mr Iain LukeDundee EastLabaye
Mrs Anne PickingEast LothianLabaye
Mr Norman BakerLewesLDemno
Mr Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemno
Mr Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Mr Malcolm BruceGordonLDemno
Mr David ChidgeyEastleighLDemno
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Mr Don FosterBathLDemno
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemno
Mr Parmjit GillLeicester SouthLDemno
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemno
Mr Nigel JonesCheltenhamLDemno
Mr Paul KeetchHerefordLDemno
Mr Charles KennedyRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemno
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Mr Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemno
Mr David RendelNewburyLDemno
Mr Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDemno
Mr Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemno
Ms Sarah TeatherBrent EastLDemno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive