Natural Environment and Rural Communities Bill — 6 Jun 2005 at 21:46

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield voted in the minority (Aye).

The issue in this division was whether to reject the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Bill for the reasons given. The division was on a 'reasoned amendment' which was moved by the Conservative front bench and gave the following reasons for halting progress on the Bill:

"this House declines to give a Second Reading to the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Bill because, whilst making welcome amendments to wildlife protection and rights of way legislation, it nevertheless creates a new public body with far-reaching powers affecting the landscape of England and Wales and rural communities without setting the protection of the natural environment as the priority, without creating a simplified scheme of support for either the environment or rural communities and without any accountability at local or national level; and because it also creates a second public body with no function that cannot be effectively delivered by existing local authorities and by other elected bodies and gives the Secretary of State powers to abolish existing public bodies and to create new public bodies, endowing them with significant powers."

Those voting Aye were therefore rejecting the Bill for these reasons; those voting No were disagreeing with these reasons and expressing their support for the general principles of the Bill (although not necessarily in its full details).

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 175 (+2 tell)090.8%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab306 (+2 tell) 0087.0%
LDem37 0060.7%
PC1 0033.3%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:349 179084.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive