Armed Forces (Parliamentary Approval for Participation in Armed Conflict) Bill — 21 Oct 2005 at 13:49

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield did not vote.

The issue was to read the Armed Forces (Parliamentary Approval for Participation in Armed Conflict) Bill a Second Time, which would move it to the next stage of the Parliamentary process.

This Bill is about abolishing the Royal Prerogative of the Prime Minister to declare war without the approval of Parliament. It was officially supported by 221 MPs who signed the Early Day Motion 85 of 2005-05-17.

However, during the debate, the Bill was talked-out of session and rescheduled to continue on Friday 10 March 2006. This vote was an attempt to force a closure on the debate (by moving that "The Question be now Put"), but it was lost because fewer than 100 members voted in favour of it. This rule is listed in Standing Order 37. A more detailed explanation of the process for Private Member Bills is here.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con5 103.1%
Independent2 00100.0%
Lab47 (+2 tell) 11 (+2 tell)017.5%
LDem32 0051.6%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP2 0033.3%
Total:91 12017.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)no
Liz BlackmanErewashLab (minister)no
Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLab (minister)no
Andrew DismoreHendonLab (minister)no
John HeppellNottingham EastLab (minister)no
Geoff HoonAshfieldLab (minister)no
Eric JoyceFalkirkLabtellno
Jane KennedyLiverpool, WavertreeLab (minister)no
Tom LevittHigh PeakLabno
Siobhain McDonaghMitcham and MordenLab (minister)no
Angela SmithSheffield, HillsboroughLab (minister)no
Claire WardWatfordLab (minister)tellno
Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLab (minister)no
David WrightTelfordLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive