Racial and Religious Hatred Bill — 8 Nov 2005 at 17:16

Lord Plumb voted in the minority (Content).

moved Amendment No. 2:

After Clause 2, insert the following new clause-


The following offences are hereby abolished-

(a) blasphemy and blasphemous libel;

(b) any distinct offence of disturbing a religious service or religious devotions;

(c) any religious offence of striking a person in a church or churchyard."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 2) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 113; Not-Contents, 153.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.0%
Con28 1620.8%
Green0 1100.0%
Ind Lab0 1100.0%
Judge1 010.0%
Lab100 (+2 tell) 2659.3%
LDem0 52 (+2 tell)73.0%
UUP1 166.7%
Crossbench19 1418.3%
Total:151 11136.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Earl Attlee Conaye
Lord Blackwell Conaye
Lord Dean of HarptreeConaye
Lord Denham Conaye
The Earl of DundeeConaye
Baroness Flather Conaye
Lord Howard of RisingConaye
Lord Jopling Conaye
Lord Kirkham Conaye
Lord Lawson of BlabyConaye
Lord Lucas Conaye
The Earl of OnslowConaye
Lord Pilkington of OxenfordConaye
Lord Plumb Conaye
Lord Soulsby of Swaffham PriorConaye
Viscount Ullswater Conaye
Baroness Blackstone Labaye
Lord Desai Labaye
Lord Elder Labaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Gavron Labaye
Lord Gilbert Labaye
Baroness Hilton of EggardonLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Lord Judd Labaye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Lipsey Labaye
Lord Macdonald of TradestonLabaye
Lord Maxton Labaye
Lord McIntosh of HaringeyLabaye
Lord Moonie Labaye
Lord Morgan Labaye
Lord Pendry Labaye
Lord Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Lord Rea Labaye
Lord Sewel Labaye
Lord Sheldon Labaye
Lord Smith of FinsburyLabaye
Lord Tomlinson Labaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive