Terrorism Bill — Consent to prosecution for terrorism in other countries — 25 Jan 2006 at 15:50

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws voted in the minority (Content).

The Not-Content voters rejected a change to Section 19 of the Terrorism Bill which would have laid out the conditions the Attorney General should look into before he allowed a prosecution for terrorism to go ahead.

Section 17 makes it possible to prosecute suspects who are not British citizens for terrorist acts abroad which have nothing to do with the UK. When the Attorney General decides to allow (or not to allow) a prosecution, this law (which was rejected) would have told him to consider:

(a) any reasonable grounds for believing that the government of the country has committed or encouraged in its territory genocide or crimes against humanity or grave breaches of human rights;
(b) the extent to which that government is accountable to its citizens through free and fair elections; and
(c) the nature of the acts of terrorism which the persons against whom proceedings are contemplated, or any terrorist organisation of which he is believed to be a member or with which he is believed to be associated, has aided, committed or encouraged.

In other words, a person who commits an act of terrorism in a non-democratic country in control of a tyrant where genocide is taking place would not need to be prosecuted in the UK.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 519.2%
Con0 199.1%
Crossbench31 1525.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab123 (+2 tell) 662.7%
LDem0 54 (+2 tell)75.7%
Total:154 10136.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ackner Crossbenchaye
Lord Ballyedmond Crossbenchaye
Lord Bridges Crossbenchaye
Lord Chorley Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Hylton Crossbenchaye
Lord Imbert Crossbenchaye
Lord Joffe Crossbenchaye
Lord Molyneaux of KilleadCrossbenchaye
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Lord Neill of BladenCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness O'Neill of BengarveCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Quirk Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Rees-Mogg Crossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Warnock Crossbenchaye
Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Judd Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Patel of BlackburnLabaye
Lord Sheldon Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive