Speakership of the House — 31 Jan 2006 at 18:18

was absent

rose to move, as an amendment to the motion standing in the name of the Lord President, in line 3, after "approved" to insert "except that the title of the office should be "Lord Presiding Officer"".

had given notice of his intention to move, as an amendment to the Motion standing in the name of the Lord President, in line 3, after "approved" to insert "except that in carrying out the duties recommended in paragraph 17 the Lord on the Woolsack should act as guardian of the Companion".

The noble Lord said: My Lords, I gather that the noble Lord, Lord Elton, had in mind to move a manuscript amendment to include the word "a" in this amendment, which I think would make it more amenable to your Lordships-but where is he? He had it in mind, so he informed me, to move an amendment to my amendment to turn it into "a" Companion, not "the" Companion-

<[i>Amendment No. 4 not moved.]

rose to move, as an amendment to the motion standing in the name of the Lord President, in line 3, after "approved" to insert "except that the Leader's role at Question Time should be transferred to the Lord Speaker".

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 5) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 132; Not-Contents, 176.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con91 (+1 tell) 646.7%
Crossbench29 719.9%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge1 010.0%
Lab17 113 (+2 tell)62.3%
LDem33 (+1 tell) 451.4%
Other1 012.5%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:174 13044.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baker of DorkingConaye
Denham Conaye
Lamont of LerwickConaye
Lawson of BlabyConaye
Quinton Conaye
St John of FawsleyConaye
Ampthill Crossbenchaye
Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Brookeborough Crossbenchaye
Palmer Crossbenchaye
Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
Tenby Crossbenchaye
Turnbull Crossbenchaye
Clinton-Davis Labno
Dixon Labno
Faulkner of WorcesterLabno
Foster of Bishop AucklandLabno
Griffiths of Burry PortLabno
Hollis of HeighamLabno
Howarth of NewportLabno
Judd Labno
Kirkhill Labno
Lofthouse of PontefractLabno
Mallalieu Labno
McIntosh of HaringeyLabno
Moonie Labno
Simon Labno
Turner of CamdenLabno
Wilkins Labno
Winston Labno
Goodhart LDem (front bench)aye
Hamwee LDem (front bench)aye
Miller of Chilthorne DomerLDem (front bench)aye
Tyler LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive