Terrorism Bill — 1 Feb 2006 at 18:37

was absent

Resolved in the negative, and amendment disagreed to accordingly.

Clause 21 <[i>Grounds of proscription]:

moved Amendment No. 13:

Page 18, line 33, at end insert-

"(a) after "terrorism" in subsection (4), insert "inadvertently or by design";


moved Amendment No. 14:

After Clause 29, insert the following new clause-


(1) Part V of the Terrorism Act 2000 (c. 11) (counter-terrorist powers) is amended as follows.

(2) In section 44 (authorisations)-

(a) in subsection (3), for the words after "if" to the end, substitute "the person giving it reasonably considers it to be necessary for the prevention of acts of terrorism";

(b) after subsection (3) insert-

"(3A) The area or place specified in the authorisation may not be greater in extent than is necessary for the purposes of the authorisation."

(3) In section 46(3) (duration of authorisation), after "practicable" insert "and in any event within 24 hours".

(4) After section 46 insert-


The Secretary of State shall publicise without delay and in such manner as he considers appropriate, the confirmation, cancellation or renewal of an authorisation under sections 44 and 46.""

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 14) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 109; Not-Contents, 124.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 17.7%
Con0 4521.4%
Crossbench7 119.9%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab113 (+2 tell) 456.1%
LDem0 42 (+2 tell)59.5%
Other1 125.0%
UUP0 266.7%
Total:122 10732.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Bhatia Crossbenchno
Boothroyd Crossbenchno
Chorley Crossbenchno
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Murphy Crossbenchno
Williamson of HortonCrossbenchno
Ahmed Labaye
Judd Labaye
Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Morgan Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive