Climate Change and Sustainable Energy Bill — New Clause 5 — Building regulations relating to emissions and use of fuel and power: time limit for prosecutions — 10 Mar 2006 at 12:30

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield did not vote.

This was a vote during the report stage of the Climate Change and Sustainable Energy Bill. The committee stage is here, and the Second Reading is here.

Those voting Aye agreed to insert a new clause 5 into the Climate Change and Sustainable Energy Bill. This clause would have the effect of inserting a new Clause 35A into the Building Act 1984 (which is unfortunately nowhere on-line), entitled "Time limit for prosecution for contravention of certain building regulations". It says, briefly:

You can be prosecuted for a contravening a building regulation relating to fuel conservation or green house gas reduction within two years of the offence and within six months of the offence coming to the attention of the prosecutor.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con22 2 (+2 tell)013.3%
Lab63 (+2 tell) 0018.4%
LDem11 0017.5%
PC1 0033.3%
Respect1 00100.0%
SNP1 0016.7%
Total:99 2016.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellno
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)tellno
Greg HandsHammersmith and FulhamCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive