Points of Order — Gambling Act 2005 (Amendment) — 17 Oct 2006 at 15:42

Charles Hendry MP, Wealden voted with the majority (No).

The aye-voters failed to obtain permission to introduce a bill increasing the permitted number of regional (so-called "super-") casinos from one to eight under the Gambling Act 2005.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con136 (+2 tell) 1070.9%
Ind1 0050.0%
Lab46 50 (+2 tell)027.8%
LDem49 4084.1%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:240 55048.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLabno
Roberta Blackman-WoodsCity of DurhamLabno
Dawn ButlerBrent SouthLabno
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
David CrausbyBolton North EastLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabno
Andrew DismoreHendonLabno
Frank DoranAberdeen NorthLabno
David DrewStroudLabno
Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLabno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLabno
Patrick HallBedfordLabno
David HamiltonMidlothianLabno
Meg HillierHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Siân JamesSwansea EastLabno
Sadiq KhanTootingLabno
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
John MannBassetlawLabno
Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabno
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Ann McKechinGlasgow NorthLabno
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Madeleine MoonBridgendLabno
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabno
Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabno
Jamie ReedCopelandLabno
Martin SalterReading WestLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabno
John SpellarWarleyLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabno
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno
Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabno
Betty WilliamsConwyLabno
John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDemaye
David LawsYeovilLDemaye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemaye
Jennifer WillottCardiff CentralLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive