Education and Inspections Bill — Stop faith schools requiring that candidates for headteacher posts belong to the relevant faith — rejected — 30 Oct 2006 at 18:17

was absent

The majority Not Contents defeated an attempt[1] to delete subsection 1 of Clause 37 in the Education and Inspections Bill. This subsection allows faith schools to require that candidates for headteacher posts belong to the relevant faith.

Reserved teachers are teachers employed specifically to deliver religious education. Previously reserved teachers could not be head teachers but subsection 1 of clause 37 in the Education and Inspections Bill removes this requirement.

The amendment in this division aimed to keep the existing regime in place so that head teachers could not be reserved teachers. However, it was defeated.

The main aims of the Education and Inspections Bill were to[2]:

  • Allow schools to achieve 'foundation' or 'trust' status - this gives governing bodies greater freedom to manage the school.
  • Reaffirm the existing ban on selection by ability and proposes a ban on interviewing.
  • Give local authorities greater scope to intervene more quickly in failing schools.
  • Ensure local authorities provide free school transport for the poorest families.
  • Enable nutritional standards to be applied to all food and drink on school premises.
  • Allow staff to discipline children for bad behaviour even outside of school.
  • Ensure parents are held responsible for excluded pupils.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.8%
Con32 215.9%
Crossbench23 414.4%
DUP0 133.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Lab114 (+2 tell) 16 (+1 tell)61.0%
LDem0 52 (+1 tell)67.1%
Other1 012.5%
UUP2 066.7%
Total:173 7634.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Flather Conaye
Sharples Conaye
Broers Crossbenchaye
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchaye
Patel Crossbenchaye
Stern Crossbenchaye
Berkeley Labaye
Billingham Labaye
Blood Labaye
David Labtellaye
Gavron Labaye
Gibson of Market RasenLabaye
Gould of PotternewtonLabaye
Howie of TroonLabaye
Lipsey Labaye
Lockwood Labaye
Macdonald of TradestonLabaye
Massey of DarwenLabaye
Maxton Labaye
McIntosh of HaringeyLabaye
Peston Labaye
Rea Labaye
Turner of CamdenLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive