Legislative Process (Notice for Amendments in Public Bill Committee) — 1 Nov 2006 at 18:25

Motion made, and Question put,

That, subject to the discretion of the Chair, notices of amendments to bills committed to a public bill committee should be tabled not later than three sitting days, calculated in accordance with Standing Order No. 12(3) (House not to sit on certain Fridays), before the sitting at which they are to be considered.- [Mr. Straw.]

The House divided: Ayes 223, Noes 172.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con34 117177.6%
Ind2 00100.0%
Lab281 (+2 tell) 2081.0%
LDem0 51 (+2 tell)084.1%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP3 0050.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:322 171179.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mark SimmondsBoston and SkegnessConaye
David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Eric PicklesBrentwood and OngarConaye
Julian BrazierCanterburyConaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Hugo SwireEast DevonConaye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireConaye
Michael JackFyldeConaye
Michael PenningHemel HempsteadConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Ben WallaceLancaster and WyreConaye
Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Philip DunneLudlowConaye
Theresa MayMaidenheadConaye
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
Keith SimpsonMid NorfolkConaye
Patrick MercerNewarkConaye
Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Henry BellinghamNorth West NorfolkConaye
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabno
David MacleanPenrith and The BorderConaye
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConaye
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConboth
John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Robert KeySalisburyConaye
Daniel KawczynskiShrewsbury and AtchamConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
William CashStoneConaye
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConaye
George OsborneTattonConaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabno
Anthony SteenTotnesConaye
Simon BurnsWest ChelmsfordConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive