Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations — 19 Mar 2007 at 19:25

Philip Davies MP, Shipley voted in the minority (No).

The majority of MPs voted to approve a set of regulations[1] that were made under the Equality Act 2006.[2]

This Act allows the Secretary of State to make regulations defining discrimination and harassment on grounds of sexual orientation, create criminal offences, and provide for exceptions.[2]

The Regulations define discrimination by a person A against a person B, on grounds of the sexual orientation of B or any other person except A, A treats B less favourably than he treats or would treat others (in cases where there is no material difference in the relevant circumstances).

According to the Regulations it is unlawful for a person A concerned with the provision of goods and services to the public to discriminate against a person B who seeks to obtain goods and services by refusing to provide B with goods and services of a quality which is similar to the quality of goods, facilities or services that A normally provides to the public.

The exceptions include matters concerning a person's home and family relations,[3] insurance,[4] blood donation,[5] Parliament and anything to do with GCHQ.[6]

As stipulated in the Act, the House of Lords also had to debate and pass the Regulations before they could come into force.[7]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con29 83 (+2 tell)058.2%
Ind0 11100.0%
Lab248 (+2 tell) 10073.9%
LDem29 4052.4%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP1 1033.3%
Total:309 99166.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter AinsworthEast SurreyConaye
Tony BaldryBanburyConaye
John BercowBuckinghamwhilst Conaye
Crispin BluntReigateConaye
David CameronWitneyConaye
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConaye
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConaye
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyConaye
Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Michael GoveSurrey HeathConaye
Chris GraylingEpsom and EwellConaye
Nick HerbertArundel and South DownsConaye
Jeremy HuntSouth West SurreyConaye
Robert KeySalisburyConaye
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConaye
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConaye
Oliver LetwinWest DorsetConaye
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Francis MaudeHorshamConaye
Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireConaye
Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConaye
George OsborneTattonConaye
Graham StuartBeverley and HoldernessConaye
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConaye
Hugo SwireEast DevonConaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Theresa VilliersChipping BarnetConaye
Bill WigginLeominsterConaye
David WillettsHavantConaye
Joe BentonBootleLabno
Tom ClarkeCoatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabno
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabno
David DrewStroudLabno
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Jim McGovernDundee WestLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Tim FarronWestmorland and LonsdaleLDemno
Bob RussellColchesterLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive