Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007 — 21 Mar 2007 at 22:09

The majority Not Contents defeated an Amendment that would have declined to pass the Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007 due to a number of concerns, predominantly
  • Fears that religious teachers and preachers could be prosecuted for homophobia
  • Fears that Catholic adoption agencies and old people's homes would have to cater for gay couples or close
  • Arguments that preventing religions discriminating against homosexuals constitutes discrimination against religions
  • Arguments that there was not enough scope for debate and the topic was important enough that it ought to be presented as primary legislation with greater opportunities for amendment, rather than as regulations
  • and the fact that equivalent regulations in Northern Ireland were currently being contested in the courts and their legality had not been established.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 311.5%
Con4 68 (+1 tell)35.1%
Crossbench16 30 (+1 tell)25.3%
DUP0 3100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab103 (+2 tell) 1053.2%
LDem42 154.4%
Other1 128.6%
UKIP0 2100.0%
UUP0 133.3%
Total:166 12039.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Fowler Conno
Noakes Con (front bench)no
Norton of LouthConno
St John of FawsleyConno
Best Crossbenchno
Craigavon Crossbenchno
D'Souza Crossbenchno
Greengross Crossbenchno
Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchno
Haskins Crossbenchno
Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Low of DalstonCrossbenchno
The of MarCrossbenchno
Murphy Crossbenchno
Patel of BradfordCrossbenchno
Rees of LudlowCrossbenchno
Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
The of SandwichCrossbenchno
Wedderburn of CharltonCrossbenchno
Anderson of SwanseaLabaye
Brennan Labaye
Brookman Labaye
Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Davies of CoityLabaye
Donoughue Labaye
Evans of ParksideLabaye
Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Pendry Labaye
Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive