Gambling (Geographical Distribution of Casino Premises Licences) Order 2007 — 28 Mar 2007 — Division No. 88 — 28 Mar 2007 at 18:28

James Brokenshire MP, Hornchurch voted in the minority (No).

The majority Ayes approved the motion:

That the draft Gambling (Geographical Distribution of Casino Premises Licences) Order 2007, which was laid before this House on 1st March, be approved.
This would have authorised the building of the UK's first 'supercasino' in Manchester, as well as sixteen other casinos of two new types created by the Gambling Act 2005. However, there was simultaneously a wrecking amendment passed in the Lords. Soon after, the new Prime Minister Gordon Brown ditched plans for a supercasino.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 168 (+2 tell)086.7%
DUP0 3033.3%
Ind1 10100.0%
Lab273 (+2 tell) 18083.2%
LDem0 54085.7%
PC0 2066.7%
Res0 10100.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:274 250083.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Colin BurgonElmetLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Jeff EnnisBarnsley East and MexboroughLabno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
John GroganSelbyLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
Joan HumbleBlackpool North and FleetwoodLabno
Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabno
Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthLabno
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Terry RooneyBradford NorthLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
Betty WilliamsConwyLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive