Modernisation of the House of Commons — Handheld email devices — 25 Oct 2007 at 16:45

The majority voted to accept the recommendation by the Select Committee on the Modernisation of the House of Commons[1] to permit the use of handheld devices to keep up to date with emails in the Chamber where the votes and speeches take place.

This was done by voting against inserting the statement:

  • "...but excluding the proposed acceptance of the Committee's recommendation 35, as set out in paragraph 31 of the Government's response, that the use of handheld devices to keep up to date with emails should be permitted in the Chamber."[2]

at the end of the motion:

  • This House welcomes the First Report of the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons on Revitalising the Chamber: the role of the back bench Member (House of Commons Paper No. 337)[3] and approves the proposals for changes in the procedures and practices of the House set out in the Government's response to the report (Cm. 7231),[4] including the proposals for topical questions.

which passed without a vote following the rejection of the amendment.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con22 21 (+2 tell)023.2%
Independent1 0025.0%
Lab46 (+2 tell) 10016.5%
LDem5 5015.9%
Total:74 36018.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David LidingtonAylesburyCon (front bench)no
Tony BaldryBanburyConno
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldCon (front bench)no
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)aye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Brian IddonBolton South EastLab (minister)aye
Tobias EllwoodBournemouth EastCon (front bench)no
John BercowBuckinghamwhilst Con (front bench)no
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)aye
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthCon (front bench)no
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)no
David BurrowesEnfield, SouthgateCon (front bench)no
Mike PenningHemel HempsteadCon (front bench)no
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)no
John PrescottKingston upon Hull EastLabaye
Bill WigginLeominsterCon (front bench)no
Jim DowdLewisham WestLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Theresa MayMaidenheadCon (front bench)no
John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordCon (front bench)no
Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLab (minister)aye
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireCon (front bench)no
George YoungNorth West HampshireCon (front bench)no
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)no
Janet AndersonRossendale and DarwenLab (minister)aye
Tim YeoSouth SuffolkCon (front bench)no
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireCon (front bench)no
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonCon (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Ed VaizeyWantageCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive