Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill [HL] — creation of admix (inter-species) embroyos — 15 Jan 2008 at 17:53

was absent

Amendments tabled by Lord Alton of Liverpool that seek to ban the creation of human admixed (formerly ‘inter-species’) embryos for research, and the use of hamster eggs for testing fertility of sperm.

Those voting Content were voting for a ban on such research. Those voting Not Content were voting to allow the licensing of the research.

Clause 4 <[i>Prohibitions in connection with genetic material not of human origin]:

moved Amendment No. 8:

Clause 4, page 4, leave out line 11

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 8) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 96; Not-Contents, 268.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 111.5%
Con42 51 (+1 tell)45.4%
Crossbench44 19 (+1 tell)34.0%
DUP0 3100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab134 (+2 tell) 865.5%
LDem42 963.8%
Other1 014.3%
UKIP0 150.0%
UUP1 166.7%
Total:266 9449.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The of WinchesterBishopaye
Attlee Conno
Bowness Conno
Brooke of Sutton MandevilleConno
Brougham and Vaux Conno
Carnegy of LourConno
Colwyn Conno
Cope of BerkeleyConno
The of CourtownConno
Crickhowell Conno
Dixon-Smith Con (front bench)no
Flather Conno
Fowler Conno
Garel-Jones Conno
Geddes Conno
Glenarthur Conno
Howe Con (front bench)no
Howe of AberavonConno
Hunt of WirralConno
Inglewood Conno
Jenkin of RodingConno
Jopling Conno
The of LindsayConno
Mackay of ClashfernConno
MacLaurin of KnebworthConno
Mayhew of TwysdenConno
Neville-Jones Con (front bench)no
Newton of BraintreeConno
Noakes Con (front bench)no
Norton of LouthConno
The of OnslowConno
Platt of WrittleConno
Prior Conno
Rawlings Con (front bench)no
Reay Conno
Roberts of ConwyConno
The of SelborneConno
Shaw of NorthsteadConno
Taylor of HolbeachCon (front bench)no
Trimble Conno
Ullswater Conno
Vinson Conno
Waldegrave of North HillConno
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Ampthill Crossbenchaye
Butler-Sloss Crossbenchaye
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchaye
Emerton Crossbenchaye
Greenway Crossbenchaye
Hylton Crossbenchaye
Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Lewis of NewnhamCrossbenchaye
Luce Crossbenchaye
Masham of IltonCrossbenchaye
Neill of BladenCrossbenchtellaye
Northbourne Crossbenchaye
Palmer Crossbenchaye
Patel of BradfordCrossbenchaye
Powell of BayswaterCrossbenchaye
Rees-Mogg Crossbenchaye
Skidelsky Crossbenchaye
Slynn of HadleyCrossbenchaye
Tenby Crossbenchaye
Ahmed Labaye
Brett Labaye
Dixon Labaye
Donoughue Labaye
Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Pendry Labaye
Williams of ElvelLabaye
Burnett LDem (front bench)aye
Cotter LDem (front bench)aye
Falkland LDemaye
Fearn LDemaye
Greaves LDem (front bench)aye
Miller of Chilthorne DomerLDem (front bench)aye
Roberts of LlandudnoLDem (front bench)aye
Steel of AikwoodLDemaye
Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive