Lisbon Treaty — Second Reading — 21 Jan 2008 at 21:45

Caroline Spelman MP, Meriden voted in the minority (No).

The majority Aye voters agreed to give a second reading to the European Union (Amendment) Bill. A second reading is where the main principles and purpose of a Bill is discussed. This Bill will give effect in United Kingdom law to the Lisbon Treaty.

The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[1]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con3 186 (+2 tell)098.5%
DUP0 90100.0%
Ind0 3075.0%
Ind Lab1 00100.0%
Lab307 (+2 tell) 18092.9%
LDem50 0079.4%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:362 224092.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConaye
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
John CummingsEasingtonLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabno
David DrewStroudLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabno
David MarshallGlasgow EastLabno
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive