Lisbon Treaty — Referendum on Britain's membership of the European Union — rejected — 4 Mar 2008 at 16:27

Nick Herbert MP, Arundel and South Downs voted against a referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union (EU)

The majority of MPs voted to reject a motion[1] which would have allowed a provision holding a referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union (EU) to be inserted into the European Union (Amendment) Bill.

The text of the rejected motion[1] was:

  • That it be an Instruction to the Committee on the European Union (Amendment) Bill that it have power to make provision in the Bill for the holding of a referendum on the United Kingdom's continued membership of the European Union.

The Liberal Democrats put forward this motion because they argued that any referendum should be on the EU as a whole rather than on individual treaties. As Adrian Sanders MP explains:[2]

  • 'How can one remain a member of a club when one has rejected its rules?'

However, the Tories and Labour thought this was a cynical tactic by the Lib Dems:

  • 'He is not arguing about the great principle of staying in or leaving the European Union, because he does not want that referendum at all. This instruction is just a weasel tactic to get out of the promise that he made to the electorate at the last general election to hold a referendum on the European treaty. Nobody who shares my opinion will be fooled by this rather disgraceful tactic.'[3]


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con168 0187.6%
DUP0 1011.1%
Ind1 0020.0%
Lab294 (+2 tell) 15088.4%
LDem0 51 (+2 tell)084.1%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:470 67185.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bob SpinkCastle Pointwhilst Conboth
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Jon CruddasDagenhamLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabaye
Andrew DismoreHendonLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
George HowarthKnowsley North and Sefton EastLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
David MarshallGlasgow EastLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive