Lisbon Treaty — Parliamentary control of decisions made at the European Union level — rejected — 4 Mar 2008 at 20:15

Jon Trickett MP, Hemsworth voted in the minority (Aye).

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] to the European Union (Amendment) Bill. The main intention of the amendment was to ensure that ministers would have to secure parliamentary approval for their negotiating position at European Union (EU) meetings. In addition, ministers could not vote in favour of regulations that would affect public services like the NHS or schools unless they had secured parliamentary approval.

Some Tories moved the amendment because they were concerned that the Treaty of Lisbon enabled the European Union (EU) to take on more and more powers without having to ask national governments or its citizens.[2] They drew attention to the passerelle clauses which enables the EU to make policy decisions through qualified majority voting (QMV) rather than unanimity. This means, in practice, the EU could make policy decisions for the UK in some areas even if the UK objected.

However, the government argued that parliament would still have a say over policy areas which moved from unanimity to QMV.[3]

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 20010.9%
DUP0 3033.3%
Ind0 4080.0%
Lab281 (+2 tell) 24 (+2 tell)087.8%
LDem46 0073.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:329 57061.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Colin BurgonElmetLabaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Martin CatonGowerLabaye
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellaye
Jon CruddasDagenhamLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabaye
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
David HeyesAshton-under-LyneLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Jon TrickettHemsworthLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive