Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill — 5 Mar 2008 at 19:00

moved Amendment No. 144B:

After Clause 129, insert the following new Clause-
"Blasphemy and blasphemous libel
(1) The offences of blasphemy and blasphemous libel under the common law of England and Wales are abolished.
(2) In section 1 of the Criminal Libel Act 1819 (60 Geo. 3 & 1 Geo. 4 c. 8) (orders for seizure of copies of blasphemous or seditious libel) the words "any blasphemous libel, or" are omitted.
(3) In sections 3 and 4 of the Law of Libel Amendment Act 1888 (c. 64) (privileged matters) the words "blasphemous or" are omitted.
(4) Subsections (2) and (3) (and the related repeals in Schedule 38) extend to England and Wales only."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 144B) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 148; Not-Contents, 87.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 320.0%
Con7 57 (+2 tell)32.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab88 (+2 tell) 442.7%
LDem28 338.8%
UKIP0 150.0%
UUP0 266.7%
Crossbench20 1518.7%
Total:146 8532.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Chidgey LDemno
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabno
Lord Colwyn Conaye
Lord Davies of CoityLabno
The Bishop of DurhamBishopaye
Baroness Flather Conaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lord Jopling Conaye
Lord Kirkhill Labno
The Earl of Mar and KellieLDemno
Lord Norton of LouthConaye
The Earl of OnslowConaye
Lord Patten of BarnesConaye
Lord Pendry Labno
The Bishop of PortsmouthBishopaye
Lord Steel of AikwoodLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive