Lisbon Treaty — Referendum (No. 2) — rejected — 5 Mar 2008 at 18:30

Bob Russell MP, Colchester did not vote.

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] to the European Union (Amendment) Bill.

MP Austin Mitchell commented on the amendment which was the subject of this division stating:

  • Amendment No. 296 provides for an enabling power to have another referendum, so would that not satisfy the Liberal desire to have their in/out referendum?

The amendment was another mechanism by which some MPs tried to force a referendum on the Lisbon Treaty. A previous attempt had also failed.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con3 188099.0%
DUP0 6066.7%
Ind0 4080.0%
Lab308 (+2 tell) 24 (+2 tell)095.5%
LDem0 14022.2%
PC0 30100.0%
Res0 10100.0%
SNP0 60100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:311 247088.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
John GummerSuffolk CoastalConno
Colin BurgonElmetLabaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabtellaye
Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellaye
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
David MarshallGlasgow EastLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Anne MoffatEast LothianLabaye
George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabaye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive