Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill — ping pong — Protection of freedom of expression (sexual orientation) — 7 May 2008 at 18:46

Lord Morris of Aberavon voted with the majority (Content).

Motion J

Page 269, line 19, at end insert-
"13A After section 29J insert-

"29JA Protection of freedom of expression (sexual orientation)

In this Part, for the avoidance of doubt, the discussion or criticism of sexual conduct or practices or the urging of persons to refrain from or modify such conduct or practices shall not be taken of itself to be threatening or intended to stir up hatred.""
The Commons disagree to Lords Amendment 285 for the following Reason-
Because it makes unnecessary provision.

rose to move Motion J1, as an amendment to Motion J, to leave out from "House" to end and insert "do insist on its Amendment No. 285".

On Question, Whether the said Motion (No. J1) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 178; Not-Contents, 164.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.0%
Con120 (+2 tell) 160.0%
DUP2 066.7%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab13 110 (+2 tell)57.1%
LDem0 4152.6%
Other1 014.3%
UKIP2 0100.0%
UUP3 0100.0%
Crossbench32 1022.5%
Total:176 16246.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Norton of LouthConno
Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Anderson of SwanseaLabaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Lord Dixon Labaye
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Lord Kirkhill Labaye
Lord Morris of AberavonLabaye
Lord Patel of BlackburnLabaye
Lord Pendry Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive