Vehicle Excise Duty — planned increases should be abandoned — rejected — 14 May 2008 at 18:51

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield voted in the minority (Aye).

The majority of MPs voted against the motion before Parliament, which read:[1]

  • This House
  • notes with concern the increases in Vehicle Excise Duty (VED) imposed in the Budget;
  • notes that between 2006 and 2010 revenues from graduated VED will have more than doubled;
  • observes that the majority of motorists who currently pay graduated VED will now pay more;
  • deplores the Government's decision to abolish the exemption from higher graduated VED rates for cars that emit more than 186g of carbon dioxide per kilometre and were registered between March 2001 and March 2006, and the fact that this was not stated clearly at the time of the Budget;
  • considers that these changes will hit those on low incomes hardest and be a further burden on hard-working families already struggling to cope with soaring living costs;
  • further notes that, although graduated VED revenues will total £4.4 billion by 2010-11, carbon emissions from motoring are expected to reduce by less than 1% as a result of the new VED regime;
  • believes that any increases in environmental taxes should be offset by tax reductions elsewhere; and
  • calls upon the Government to abandon its planned increases in VED.

There was no alternative motion put in its place

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 116 (+2 tell)061.5%
DUP0 1011.1%
Independent1 0020.0%
Lab252 (+2 tell) 0072.4%
LDem31 0049.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 4066.7%
UKIP0 10100.0%
Total:284 125065.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive