Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill — Fertility treatment requires father and mother — rejected — 20 May 2008 at 18:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the need for both a father and a mother to be considered when taking account of the welfare of a child who may be born as a result of fertility treatment. Instead, the law will stipulate the need for "supportive parenting".

The current text in the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 1990 says:[1]

  • A woman shall not be provided with treatment services unless account has been taken of the welfare of any child who may be born as a result of the treatment (including the need of that child for a father), and of any other child who may be affected by the birth.

The new Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill under discussion will substitute "a father" for "supportive parenting".[2]

The vote, which was lost, would have instead changed "a father" to "a father and a mother" as it was written in the 1990 law.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con12 144 (+1 tell)081.8%
DUP0 6066.7%
Ind2 30100.0%
Ind Lab0 10100.0%
Lab232 (+2 tell) 50080.9%
LDem40 7 (+1 tell)076.2%
PC1 1066.7%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP5 10100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:292 217080.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BaronBillericayConno
John BattleLeeds WestLabaye
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLabaye
Joe BentonBootleLabaye
John BercowBuckinghamwhilst Conno
David BlunkettSheffield, BrightsideLabaye
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemaye
Andy BurnhamLeighLabaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Tom ClarkeCoatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabaye
David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Tony CunninghamWorkingtonLabaye
Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabaye
Quentin DaviesGrantham and Stamfordwhilst Labaye
Brian H DonohoeCentral AyrshireLabaye
Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConno
David DrewStroudLabaye
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyConno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Michael Jabez FosterHastings and RyeLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Paul GogginsWythenshawe and Sale EastLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Patrick HallBedfordLabaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Tom HarrisGlasgow SouthLabaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemaye
Nick HerbertArundel and South DownsConno
Stephen HesfordWirral WestLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Mark HunterCheadleLDemaye
Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLabaye
Paul KeetchHerefordLDemaye
Ruth KellyBolton WestLabaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Ashok KumarMiddlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabaye
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Angus MacNeilNa h-Eileanan an IarSNPaye
Francis MaudeHorshamConno
Thomas McAvoyRutherglen and Hamilton WestLabaye
John McFallWest DunbartonshireLabaye
Jim McGovernDundee WestLabaye
Alan MealeMansfieldLabaye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Paul MurphyTorfaenLabaye
George OsborneTattonConno
John PenroseWeston-Super-MareConno
John PughSouthportLDemaye
Andy ReedLoughboroughLabaye
Paul RowenRochdaleLDemtellaye
Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Anne SnelgroveSouth SwindonLabaye
John SpellarWarleyLabaye
Ian StewartEcclesLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemaye
John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Don TouhigIslwynLabaye
David TredinnickBosworthConno
Derek TwiggHaltonLabaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Edward VaizeyWantageConno
Keith VazLeicester EastLabaye
Claire WardWatfordLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive