Lisbon Treaty — Parliament to scrutinise the European Union's High Representative for Foreign Affairs — rejected — 4 Jun 2008 at 16:33

was absent

The majority Not-Contents rejected an amendment[1] to the European Union (Amendment) Bill. This would have ensured that Parliament had the opportunity to discuss and scrutinise the conduct and role of the European Union's High Representative for Foreign Affairs.

In moving the amendment Lord Howell of Guildford explains that:[2]

  • 'We need much more than EU partners and a common foreign and security policy to fulfil and promote our contribution and our interests worldwide. We need maximum flexibility in our EU alliances and coalitions. Frankly, the Lisbon treaty gives us neither. Our foreign policy defines us as a nation and Parliament deserves and requires a proper say in that part of our international role, which is to be shaped by the EU and its agencies.'

However, Baroness Ashton of Upholland argues that:[3]

  • 'Our scrutiny arrangements work extremely well... My argument against another report is that I believe that the current procedures already work effectively and should remain. The scrutiny position is clear and I do not believe that there is anything to be added by providing yet another report in this context.'

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 130 (+2 tell)64.4%
Crossbench35 1425.9%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab119 (+2 tell) 055.8%
LDem49 164.1%
Other0 114.3%
UKIP0 2100.0%
UUP1 166.7%
Total:204 15051.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Ampthill Crossbenchaye
Ballyedmond Crossbenchaye
Chorley Crossbenchaye
Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchaye
Greenway Crossbenchaye
Inge Crossbenchaye
Marsh Crossbenchaye
Monson Crossbenchaye
Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Palmer Crossbenchaye
Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchaye
Slim Crossbenchaye
Sutherland of HoundwoodCrossbenchaye
Burnett LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive