Lisbon Treaty — Delay till 20 October 2008 — rejected — 18 Jun 2008 at 18:07

was absent

The majority of Lords voted against passing the following motion to the European Union (Amendment) Bill during its Third Reading debate that:[1]

  • Notwithstanding the normal practice of the House, this Bill be read a third time no earlier than Monday 20 October 2008 to allow --
  • Parliament to consider the most appropriate response to the changed circumstances and uncertainties caused by the rejection of the Lisbon treaty in the Irish referendum; and
  • any amendments to the Bill made necessary by those changed circumstances to be considered in detail by the House, if necessary on recommitment.

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[2]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con7 144 (+2 tell)74.6%
Crossbench43 2938.1%
DUP0 133.3%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab157 (+2 tell) 173.7%
LDem64 183.3%
Other3 042.9%
UKIP0 2100.0%
UUP0 3100.0%
Total:275 18263.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Bowness Conno
Brittan of SpennithorneConno
Flather Conno
Garel-Jones Conno
Heseltine Conno
Howe of AberavonConno
Hurd of WestwellConno
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Ballyedmond Crossbenchaye
Bew Crossbenchaye
Boyce Crossbenchaye
Brookeborough Crossbenchaye
Colville of CulrossCrossbenchaye
Cox Crossbenchaye
Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchaye
Dear Crossbenchaye
Deech Crossbenchaye
Fellowes Crossbenchaye
Greenway Crossbenchaye
Guthrie of CraigiebankCrossbenchaye
Hameed Crossbenchaye
Hylton Crossbenchaye
Inge Crossbenchaye
Masham of IltonCrossbenchaye
Monson Crossbenchaye
Moran Crossbenchaye
Neill of BladenCrossbenchaye
Northbourne Crossbenchaye
Owen Crossbenchaye
Powell of BayswaterCrossbenchaye
Rees-Mogg Crossbenchaye
Slim Crossbenchaye
Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Walker of AldringhamCrossbenchaye
Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchaye
Gilbert Labaye
Burnett LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive