Counter-Terrorism Bill — 17 Nov 2008 at 15:52

Lord Broers voted with the majority (Not-Content).

moved Amendment No. 7:

Clause 81, page 57, leave out lines 6 to 8 and insert-

"(b) other premises to which the controlled person is required to grant access in accordance with an obligation imposed by or under the control order;(c) any premises-(i) to which the controlled person has previously been required to grant access in accordance with an obligation imposed by or under a control order, and(ii) with which there is reason to believe that the controlled person is or was recently connected."

On Question, amendment agreed to.

Schedule 7 <[i>Terrorist financing and money laundering]:

moved Amendments Nos. 8 to 10:

Schedule 7, page 89, line 29, leave out "negative" and insert "affirmative"
Schedule 7, page 90, line 10, at end insert-
"( ) The requirements imposed by a direction must be proportionate having regard to the advice mentioned in paragraph 1(2) or, as the case may be, the risk mentioned in paragraph 1(3) or (4) to the national interests of the United Kingdom."
Schedule 7, page 90, line 18, leave out "take" and insert "undertake"

On Question, amendments agreed to.

moved Amendment No. 11:

Schedule 7, page 94, line 28, leave out paragraph 20

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 11) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 125; Not-Contents, 130.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 416.0%
Con0 66 (+2 tell)33.3%
Ind Lab0 1100.0%
Lab112 (+2 tell) 052.5%
LDem0 3242.1%
UUP0 266.7%
Crossbench16 1817.8%
Total:128 12335.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive