Police raid of MP's office — New committee to investigate immediately — rejected — 8 Dec 2008 at 17:34

Charles Hendry MP, Wealden voted in the minority (Aye).

The majority of MPs voted against changing the motion for debate from the one that was proposed and passed in the next vote[1] to one that read:[2]

  • That, following the search of a Member's office in the Parliamentary Estate by the police and the seizure of material therein, a committee be appointed to review the internal processes of the House administration for granting permission for such action, and to investigate all the circumstances, including Ministerial, official and police actions, which led to the search, and to review the applicable rules and procedures of the House and to make recommendations;
  • That the committee have power to send for persons, papers and records; to report from time to time; to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House; and
  • That the Committee should be bound in its proceedings by the existing resolution of the House on matters of sub judice; and
  • That the committee consist of seven members appointed by the Speaker.

The changes to the text of the Government motion are highlighted. The most important change was to delete a paragraph which said that the committee must adjourn as soon as it has chosen a chairman until after all the police inquiries have concluded.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 183 (+1 tell)095.3%
Ind1 3066.7%
Ind Lab0 10100.0%
Lab283 (+2 tell) 29190.0%
LDem0 57 (+1 tell)092.1%
PC0 2066.7%
Res0 10100.0%
SNP0 4057.1%
Total:284 280191.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Charles ClarkeNorwich SouthLabaye
Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Fabian HamiltonLeeds North EastLabaye
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Denis MacShaneRotherhamLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabaye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Keith VazLeicester EastLabaye
Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive