Airport Expansion (Parliamentary Approval) — 24 Feb 2009 at 16:39

Mark Hoban MP, Fareham voted with the majority (Aye).

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to amend the Planning Act 2008 to require parliamentary approval for proposals for the building of new major airports and additional runways at existing major airports; and for connected purposes.

Question put (Standing Order No. 23).

The House divided: Ayes 247, Noes 203.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con156 2081.9%
DUP0 1011.1%
Ind3 0050.0%
Ind Lab1 00100.0%
Lab22 (+1 tell) 200 (+1 tell)164.3%
LDem57 (+1 tell) 0 (+1 tell)093.7%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP5 0071.4%
Total:246 203171.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip DaviesShipleyConno
David WilshireSpelthorneConno
Hugh BayleyCity of YorkLabaye
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabtellaye
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Martin LintonBatterseaLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Martin SalterReading WestLabaye
Virendra SharmaEaling, SouthallLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Andy SlaughterEaling, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabaye
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Colin BurgonElmetLabboth
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemtellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive