Iraq War Inquiry — Declines to make a proposal — 25 Mar 2009 at 15:51

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield voted against a motion saying a time will come when a further inquiry into the Iraq war is appropriate but that time hasn't been reached yet.

The majority of MPs voted against holding a further inquiry into the Iraq war at this time but to agree a time will come when an inquiry is appropriate.

The majority of MPs voted for the motion, which read:[1]

  • This House
  • notes the Resolutions of this House of 31 October 2006,[2] 11 June 2007[3] and 25 March 2008[4] on an Iraq inquiry;
  • recognises the heroic efforts of the British armed forces in Iraq who have a continuing role which this House should be careful not to undermine;
  • further recognises that a time will come when an inquiry is appropriate, but
  • declines to make a proposal for a further inquiry at this time, whilst important operations are underway in Iraq to support the people and government of Iraq.

(The Prime Minister's Spokesman had insisted that he thought it was okay to make an announcement on when troops would return, but continue to stonewall the announcement of an inquiry whilst the Armed Forces were still operational in Iraq.)[5]

This replaced a motion that was rejected in the previous vote.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 179 (+2 tell)093.8%
DUP4 0044.4%
Independent1 4083.3%
Lab294 (+2 tell) 12188.3%
LDem0 58092.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 70100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:300 264189.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)no
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLab (minister)no
Linda RiordanHalifaxLab (minister)no
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLab (minister)no
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive