MPs' expenses — Staff to continue to be employed by MPs — rejected — 30 Apr 2009 at 17:00

Dai Havard MP, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney voted with the majority (No).

The majority of MPs voted against changing the words of the motion (which was passed in the next division[1]):

  • In the opinion of this House, staff who work for an hon. Member should be employed by the House, as a personal appointment and managed by the hon. Member; and
  • The House of Commons Commission shall consider this decision and make 5 recommendations for its implementation, including any transitional provisions.

... by deleting the first paragraph.[2]

This would mean that, as there would have been no opinion made, the House of Commons Commission would not be bound by this decision and could consider all the options without limitation.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con55 22039.9%
DUP5 0055.6%
Ind1 3183.3%
Lab222 (+2 tell) 13067.7%
LDem0 51 (+2 tell)084.1%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP0 5071.4%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:284 95160.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughConaye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConaye
David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Michael FallonSevenoaksConaye
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
John GummerSuffolk CoastalConaye
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexConaye
Jacqui LaitBeckenhamConaye
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConaye
Anthony SteenTotnesConaye
Robert SymsPooleConaye
Sir Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConaye
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
Ann WintertonCongletonConaye
Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConaye
George YoungNorth West HampshireConaye
Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabaye
Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabaye
Charles ClarkeNorwich SouthLabaye
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabaye
Jim McGovernDundee WestLabaye
Meg MunnSheffield, HeeleyLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive