MPs' expenses — Staff to be employees of Parliament — 30 Apr 2009 at 17:00

Jamie Reed MP, Copeland voted with the majority (Aye).

The majority of MPs voted for the motion, which read:[1]

  • In the opinion of this House, staff who work for an hon. Member should be employed by the House, as a personal appointment and managed by the hon. Member; and
  • The House of Commons Commission shall consider this decision and make 5 recommendations for its implementation, including any transitional provisions.

This would mean that instead of the MPs receiving an allowance with which they could employ assistants and staff, the employment contracts would be between the staff and Parliament directly, who would pay their wages directly and set standard terms and conditions.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con55 26042.0%
DUP2 0022.2%
Ind3 2083.3%
Lab216 (+2 tell) 19 (+1 tell)068.0%
LDem3 47 (+1 tell)081.0%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP0 5071.4%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:280 100060.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireConno
Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughConno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConno
David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Michael FallonSevenoaksConno
John GummerSuffolk CoastalConno
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConno
Michael HowardFolkestone and HytheConno
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexConno
Jacqui LaitBeckenhamConno
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConno
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Robert SymsPooleConno
Sir Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConno
Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConno
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Ann WintertonCongletonConno
Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConno
George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabno
Janet AndersonRossendale and DarwenLabno
Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabno
David CairnsInverclydeLabno
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabno
Charles ClarkeNorwich SouthLabno
David ClellandTyne BridgeLabno
Frank CookStockton NorthLabno
Andrew DismoreHendonLabtellno
Jim DowdLewisham WestLabno
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabno
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabno
David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabno
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabno
Jim McGovernDundee WestLabno
Meg MunnSheffield, HeeleyLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Paddy TippingSherwoodLabno
Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Lynne FeatherstoneHornsey and Wood GreenLDemaye
David HowarthCambridgeLDemaye
John PughSouthportLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive