Political Parties and Elections Bill — Report (2nd Day) — 17 Jun 2009 at 17:01

was absent

Amendment 38

Moved by Lord Tyler

38: After Clause 16, insert the following new Clause-

"£50,000 cap on donations

(1) In section 54 of the 2000 Act (permissible donors), after subsection (1) there is inserted-

"(1A) A donation received by a registered party from a permissible donor must not be accepted by the party in so far as the amount of that donation and of any other donations accepted by the party from that donor during the same calendar year exceeds £50,000.

(1B) Subsection (1A) does not apply to donations to which subsections (1) and (2) of section 55 apply, or to monies received from public funds."

(2) In section 56 of the 2000 Act (acceptance or return of donations: general), after subsection (2) there is inserted-

"(2A) If a registered party receives a donation which it is prohibited from accepting by virtue of section 54(1A), subsection (2) applies to that donation only in so far as the amount of that donation and of any other donations accepted by the party from that donor during the same calendar year exceeds £50,000."

(3) In section 58(1)(a) of the 2000 Act (forfeiture of donations made by impermissible or unidentifiable donors) after "(b)" there is inserted "or (1A)"."

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con68 134.3%
Crossbench17 1818.8%
DUP1 033.3%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab118 (+2 tell) 055.0%
LDem0 50 (+2 tell)68.4%
UKIP1 050.0%
UUP2 066.7%
Total:208 6940.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Cobbold Crossbenchno
Colville of CulrossCrossbenchno
Condon Crossbenchno
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
The of ErrollCrossbenchno
Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchno
Haskins Crossbenchno
Jay of EwelmeCrossbenchno
Joffe Crossbenchno
The of MarCrossbenchno
Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Monson Crossbenchno
Moser Crossbenchno
Neill of BladenCrossbenchno
Palmer Crossbenchno
Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchno
Williamson of HortonCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive