Opposition Day — [16th Allotted Day] — US-UK Extradition Treaty — 15 Jul 2009 at 16:01

Mark Hoban MP, Fareham voted in the minority (Aye).

The Majority of MPs successfully defeated a motion calling for the immediate review and reform of the Extradition Act 2003. Those supporting the motion argued that there was no reciprocity in US-UK Extradition proceedings.

The defeated motion read:

That this House expresses its very great concern that the Extradition Act 2003 is being undermined by a series of high profile cases that are jeopardising confidence in the extradition system; and calls on the Government to hold immediately a review of the Act with a view to reforming it at the earliest opportunity to deal with the issues of public concern.

The most high profile case that was cited by Shadow Home Secretary Chris Grayling as undermining public confidence in the Extradition Act was that concerning Gary McKinnon.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 158 (+2 tell)083.3%
DUP0 4044.4%
Ind2 40100.0%
Lab289 (+2 tell) 10086.2%
LDem0 54085.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP0 5071.4%
Total:291 236084.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Jim DevineLivingstonLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mohammad SarwarGlasgow CentralLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Keith VazLeicester EastLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive