Equality Bill — Committee (4th Day) — 25 Jan 2010 at 18:17

was absent

Amendment 99A

Moved by Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

99A: Schedule 9, page 165, line 10, at end insert-

"( ) Employment is for the purposes of an organised religion only if-

(a) the employment is as a minister of religion, or

(b) the employment is in another post that exists (or, where the post has not previously been filled, that would exist) to promote or represent the religion or to explain the doctrines of the religion (whether to followers of the religion or to others)."

Division on Amendment 99A

Contents 174; Not-Contents 195.

Amendment 99A disagreed.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop8 030.8%
Con113 (+2 tell) 159.5%
Crossbench52 2440.4%
DUP2 066.7%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab11 101 (+2 tell)52.3%
LDem3 4664.5%
UKIP1 050.0%
UUP2 066.7%
Total:193 17251.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lamont of LerwickConaye
Campbell of LoughboroughCrossbenchaye
Campbell of SurbitonCrossbenchaye
Condon Crossbenchaye
Coussins Crossbenchaye
Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Crisp Crossbenchaye
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Greengross Crossbenchaye
Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchaye
Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchaye
Haskins Crossbenchaye
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchaye
Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchaye
Low of DalstonCrossbenchaye
McCluskey Crossbenchaye
Meacher Crossbenchaye
Murphy Crossbenchaye
Ouseley Crossbenchaye
Pannick Crossbenchaye
Rees of LudlowCrossbenchaye
Stern of BrentfordCrossbenchaye
Turnbull Crossbenchaye
Warnock Crossbenchaye
Young of HornseyCrossbenchaye
Ahmed Labno
Brennan Labno
Clarke of HampsteadLabno
Davies of CoityLabno
Donoughue Labno
Falkender Labno
Gordon of StrathblaneLabno
Patel of BlackburnLabno
Pendry Labno
Rea Labno
Williams of ElvelLabno
Burnett LDem (front bench)no
Falkland LDemno
Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive