Superannuation Bill — No Second Reading — rejected — 7 Sep 2010 at 21:44

Michael Weir MP, Angus voted in the minority (Aye).

The majority of MPs voted to continue the second reading of the Superannuation Bill[1] on the grounds that it is unfair on certain classes of public sector workers and a lack of scrutiny and consultation during its development.

The Bill proposed capping civil service redundancy payments at a maximum of 12 months’ pay for compulsory redundancy and 15 months’ for voluntary exits.

The vote was on a proposal to replace the original motion text:

  • That the Bill be now read a Second time

support of which would have indicated approval of the main principle of the Bill, with an alternative text:

  • This House,
  • whilst affirming its belief that civil service compensation should be reformed,
  • declines to give a Second Reading to the Superannuation Bill because it provides inadequate protection for some of the lowest paid and longest serving public sector workers;
  • believes that the reform proposals of February 2010 were fair, reasonable and non-age discriminatory, offering protection for the lowest paid workers whilst making substantial savings; and
  • is strongly of the opinion that the publication of such a Bill should have been preceded by a full process of pre-legislative scrutiny of a draft Bill and in full consultation with Civil Service employees.

Immediately after this, MPs held another vote to pass the bill through its Second Reading.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con282 (+1 tell) 0092.5%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 225 (+2 tell)088.0%
LDem47 (+1 tell) 0084.2%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:329 240089.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive