Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 11 — Welsh Constituancies — 20 Oct 2010 at 21:00

Patrick McLoughlin MP, Derbyshire Dales voted to keep the current Welsh Assembly constituencies but allow UK Parliamentary constituencies in Wales to diverge from them as a result of future boundary reviews.

The majority of MPs voted to keep the current Welsh Assembly constituencies unchanged by future boundary reviews which will affect UK Parliamentary constituencies.

Welsh Assembly constituencies are currently the same as UK Parliamentary constituencies; MP's support for this clause means they can (and will, as a result of other measures in the Bill) diverge in the future.

The division was on if Clause 11 of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1] as amended by the Commons[2] ought remain part of the Bill.

The effect of the clause is:

  • Changes to UK Parliamentary Constituencies would not change Welsh Assembly constituencies.
  • Permitting the results of reviews of Welsh constituencies currently in progress to effect the Welsh assembly constituencies but not the UK Parliament constituencies.

Clause 11 was neither debated, or amended during the Committee of the whole house which preceded this vote.

David Davies, MP for Monmouthshire, raised a point of order complaining about the fact there was no time for a debate on this clause[3]. He was referred to the fact MPs had agreed a programme motion which was governing the timetable for proceedings.

During the Debate on the Act in general Conservative MP Mark Field said[4]:

  • The Welsh position has been maintained since we drew up the constituencies. There were 38 protected constituencies there until 1983, and 40 thereafter. The position of Wales has been protected, and it is massively over-represented. That is the reason for the move to equalise the size of electorates, which I also fully support.

During the Debate Labour MP Chris Bryant said[5]:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con259 (+1 tell) 0085.0%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 106 (+2 tell)041.9%
LDem46 (+1 tell) 0082.5%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:305 114066.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive