Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 8 — 40% Minimum Turnout for Automatic Action on AV Referendum Result — 2 Nov 2010 at 19:45

Nigel Adams MP, Selby and Ainsty voted to only automatically act on the outcome of the referendum on introducing the alternative vote system for electing MPs if at least forty per cent of electors entitled to vote did so.

The majority of MPs voted against only automatically acting on the outcome of the referendum on introducing the alternative vote system for electing MPs if at least forty per cent of electors entitled to vote did so.

The Bill as drafted contained a provision committing the Government to introduce the Alternative Vote if a simple majority of those voting in the referendum voted for it.

The amendment proposed adding an additional condition which would have to be satisfied before introducing the Alternative Vote system for electing MPs:

  • "(c) the number of electors casting a vote in the referendum is equal to or greater than 40 per cent. of those entitled to cast such a vote.'.

The amendment would have been inserted into Clause 8(1) of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1][2].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con262 (+1 tell) 17 (+2 tell)292.8%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab219 8088.0%
LDem54 (+1 tell) 0096.5%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:547 29290.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughContellaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
William CashStoneConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
Geoffrey CoxTorridge and West DevonConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestConaye
Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
David NuttallBury NorthContellaye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConaye
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
Keith SimpsonBroadlandConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Sarah WollastonTotnesConaye
Steven BakerWycombeConboth
David MorrisMorecambe and LunesdaleConboth
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
George HowarthKnowsleyLabaye
John MannBassetlawLabaye
Yasmin QureshiBolton South EastLabaye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive