Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Motion to refer to the Examiners — 15 Nov 2010 at 16:37

was absent

The House of Lords voted against requiring that the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill be assessed by professional staff to determine if it ought be treated as a Government (public) bill or as a "hybrid" bill as it progresses through Parliament.

The majority of Lords voted against a motion moved By Lord Falconer of Thoroton:

  • To move that the Bill be referred to the Examiners.

The Examiners, are the Clerks of Private Bills in both Houses.

A hybrid Bill is a public bill which affects specific entities in a special way. The argument was that as the constituencies of Shetland and Orkney and the Western Isles were to be exempted from provisions of the Bill designed to ensure an equalisation of the number of electors per constituency the Bill came into this category.

Had the Bill been determined to be a hybrid bill, then other representations from constituencies not given the special treatment could have been heard.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 28.3%
Con124 (+1 tell) 061.6%
Crossbench39 2835.3%
DUP0 250.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 171 (+2 tell)70.9%
LDem58 (+1 tell) 171.4%
Non-affiliated1 050.0%
Other0 125.0%
UUP0 133.3%
Total:222 20757.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Afshar Crossbenchaye
Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchaye
Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Boyce Crossbenchaye
Brookeborough Crossbenchaye
Clancarty Crossbenchaye
Cobbold Crossbenchaye
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchaye
Eames Crossbenchaye
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchaye
Haskins Crossbenchaye
Martin of SpringburnCrossbenchaye
Mawson Crossbenchaye
Meacher Crossbenchaye
Moser Crossbenchaye
O'Loan Crossbenchaye
O'Neill of BengarveCrossbenchaye
Palmer Crossbenchaye
Patel of BradfordCrossbenchaye
Richardson of CalowCrossbenchaye
Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchaye
The of SandwichCrossbenchaye
St John of BletsoCrossbenchaye
Warnock Crossbenchaye
Waverley Crossbenchaye
Wedderburn of CharltonCrossbenchaye
Young of HornseyCrossbenchaye
Falkland LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive