Fixed Term Parliaments Bill — Clause 2 — Definition of Motion of No Confidence — Early General Elections — 1 Dec 2010 at 15:30

Patrick McLoughlin MP, Derbyshire Dales voted against expressly defining what counts as "a motion of no confidence" for the purposes of prompting an early general election.

The majority of MPs voted against expressly defining what counts as "a motion of no confidence in Her Majesty’s Government" for the purpose of the provisions in the Fixed Term Parliaments Bill which require an early general election following a vote of no-confidence in the Government if it is not followed by a motion of confidence in a Government within 14 days.

MPs were considering the Fixed Term Parliaments Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was[2]:

  • Amendment 25, in page 2, line 24, at end add-
  • '(6A) In this section a "motion of no confidence in Her Majesty's Government" shall be-
  • (a) in the terms "This House has no confidence in Her Majesty's Government" or
  • (b) in the terms "This House has no confidence in the Prime Minister".'

This would have added the above new subclause to clause 2 of the Fixed Term Parliaments Bill[3].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con248 (+2 tell) 3082.7%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 210 (+2 tell)082.5%
LDem50 0087.7%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:298 229083.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive