Superannuation Bill — Clause 3 — Time Limit on Renewal of Cap on Compensation for Civil Service Leavers — 14 Dec 2010 at 17:45

John Penrose MP, Weston-Super-Mare did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted for ministers to be able to renew a cap on compensation for those leaving the civil service so it applies for up to three years, rather than just one year. The Bill introduces the cap for one year only in the first instance, with reinstatement being required to keep it in force.

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment (a) proposed to Lords amendment 6.

Lords amendment 6 was:[2]

  • Page 4, line 22, at end insert—
  • “(4A) An order under subsection (4)(c) may not be made after the end of the period of 3 years beginning with the day on which this Act is passed.” In the Title

Amendment (a) proposed to Lords amendment 6 was:[3]

  • Line 3, leave out ‘3 years’ and insert ‘one year’.

The amendments relate to clause 3(4)(c)[4]<[sup class="sup-5">[5] which describes the circumstances where the Minister for the Civil Service may repeal, or revive, section 2 of the Bill, which relates to capping compensation paid to individuals leaving the civil service.

The amendments are on the question of how long the provision, which the Bill initially introduced for twelve months can be reinstated for. The Bill initially stated ministers could reinstate the cap for periods of up to six months, the Lords proposed extending this to three years, those supporting amendment (a) were in favour of one year.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con264 (+2 tell) 0086.9%
DUP0 2025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 214 (+2 tell)084.0%
LDem49 2089.5%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:313 225084.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemaye
John LeechManchester, WithingtonLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive