Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Political Party Spending During Referenda — 15 Dec 2010 at 17:41

was absent

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against a step intended to work towards reducing the amount political parties can spend in referendum campaigns.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 39AC: Page 4, line 3, after “15A” insert “and as if the Schedule set out in Schedule (Limits on referendum expenses by permitted participants) to this Act were inserted into that Act as Schedule 14A.”

This would have taken effect on clause 6(1) of the Bill which stated:

  • (1) The 2000 Act has effect in relation to the referendum as if the Schedule set out in Schedule 9 to this Act were inserted in that Act as Schedule 15A.

The intended effect of treating the schedule on "limits on referendum expenses by permitted participants" as if it were within the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 was explained during the debate leading up to the vote as being to enable a subsequent amendment, number 126, which sought to reduce the amount that a registered political party can spend on a referendum campaign from £5 million to a maximum of £500,000.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con116 (+1 tell) 057.1%
Crossbench16 2320.4%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 140 (+2 tell)58.2%
LDem59 (+1 tell) 071.4%
Non-affiliated1 050.0%
Other0 125.0%
UUP0 266.7%
Total:192 16749.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Aberdare Crossbenchno
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Bew Crossbenchno
Cameron of DillingtonCrossbenchno
Craigavon Crossbenchno
Deech Crossbenchno
The of ErrollCrossbenchno
Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchno
Greenway Crossbenchno
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Jay of EwelmeCrossbenchno
Kilclooney Crossbenchno
The of MarCrossbenchno
Palmer Crossbenchno
Patel Crossbenchno
Ramsbotham Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive