Loans to Ireland Bill — Programme — Expidte Consideration of the Bill — 15 Dec 2010 at 13:21

Jo Swinson MP, East Dunbartonshire voted to approve a proposed timetable, and rules, intended to expedite the consideration of the Loans to Ireland Bill

The majority of MPs voted to approve a proposed timetable[1], and rules, intended to expedite the consideration of the Loans to Ireland Bill

The programme sought to expedite the reading of the Loans to Ireland Bill.

The motion included several provisions to speed up the Bill reading process in light of the dire economic situation Ireland was facing. Those who voted against the motion expressed their concern at the limits it would place on Parliamentary scrutiny of the Loans to Ireland Bill.

The motion suggested time restrictions and restrictions on questions being put to the house including:

  • A provision to ensure the reading of the Bill would occur in the same day.
  • Various other provisions seeking to avoid repetitive questions.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con246 (+2 tell) 11 (+2 tell)185.6%
DUP0 6075.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab1 201.2%
LDem45 0078.9%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:292 21150.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughContellno
Douglas CarswellClactonConno
William CashStoneConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
James ClappisonHertsmereConno
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConno
Graham StuartBeverley and HoldernessConno
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Neil ParishTiverton and HonitonConboth
Andrew GwynneDenton and ReddishLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive