Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — 40 Percent Turnout Threshold to make AV Referendum Binding — 7 Feb 2011 at 16:35

was absent

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to require a 40% turnout in the referendum of using the "Alternative Vote" system for electing MPs for the referendum result to be binding.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The motion agreed in this vote was:

  • Amendment A1: Clause 1, page 1, line 5, at end insert-
  • "( ) If less than 40% of the electorate vote in the referendum, the result shall not be binding."


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con10 119 (+1 tell)57.0%
Crossbench50 2538.9%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab153 (+2 tell) 061.8%
LDem0 71 (+1 tell)73.5%
Other1 025.0%
UUP1 150.0%
Total:217 21654.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Blackwell Conaye
Brooke of Sutton MandevilleConaye
Cathcart Conaye
Dobbs Conaye
Forsyth of DrumleanConaye
Hamilton of EpsomConaye
Higgins Conaye
Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lamont of LerwickConaye
Swinfen Conaye
Aberdare Crossbenchno
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Bew Crossbenchno
Broers Crossbenchno
Butler-Sloss Crossbenchno
Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchno
Condon Crossbenchno
Cox Crossbenchno
Craigavon Crossbenchno
Fellowes Crossbenchno
Hennessy of NympsfieldCrossbenchno
Imbert Crossbenchno
Janvrin Crossbenchno
Kakkar Crossbenchno
Luce Crossbenchno
Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Mogg Crossbenchno
Powell of BayswaterCrossbenchno
Ramsbotham Crossbenchno
Scott of FoscoteCrossbenchno
Slim Crossbenchno
Stevenson of CoddenhamCrossbenchno
Turnbull Crossbenchno
Walpole Crossbenchno
Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive