Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Reduce Number of MPs from 650 to 600 — 8 Feb 2011 at 19:51

Lord Newby voted against reducing the number of MPs from 650 to 600.

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against reducing the number of MPs from 650 to 600.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 18F: Clause 11, page 9, leave out lines 36 and 37 and insert-
  • "United Kingdom electoral quota
  • 1 The United Kingdom electoral quota shall be defined as the total electorate of the United Kingdom on the designated enumeration day divided by 650."

As the amendment was rejected the relevant section[2] remained:

  • Number of constituencies
  • 1 The number of constituencies in the United Kingdom shall be 600.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con152 (+1 tell) 067.1%
Ind Lab0 1100.0%
Lab1 155 (+2 tell)62.9%
LDem75 (+1 tell) 077.6%
Other0 125.0%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP2 175.0%
Crossbench20 1015.5%
Total:250 16954.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Smith of BasildonLabno
Lord Rogan UUPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive