European Union — UK Contributions to the Eurozone Financial Stabilisation Mechanism — 9 Feb 2011 at 20:39

David Laws MP, Yeovil voted to support the Government's position that the UK should not contribute to the European Stability Mechanism and financial assistance for Euro area Member States should primarily be provided by other euro area Member States.

The majority of MPs voted for the UK not to be required to contribute to the European Stability Mechanism, which exists to give financial assistance to Eurozone countries in need. The majority of MP's supported the Government's policy that financial assistance for euro area Member States should primarily be provided by other euro area Member States.

The motion passed in this vote was:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con235 19083.0%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab2 1807.8%
LDem48 0084.2%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:297 45053.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BaronBasildon and BillericayConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughConno
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConno
Douglas CarswellClactonConno
William CashStoneConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
James ClappisonHertsmereConno
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringConno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConno
Karl McCartneyLincolnConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Mark PritchardThe WrekinConno
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Charles WalkerBroxbourneConno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabaye
Khalid MahmoodBirmingham, Perry BarrLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive