Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Special Case for Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly — 9 Feb 2011 at 17:51

was absent

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against requiring Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly to be included in parliamentary constituencies which are wholly in Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 25
  • Clause 11, page 11, line 10, at end insert-
  • "Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly
  • (1) All parts of Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly must be included in constituencies which are wholly in Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly.
  • (2) Rule 2 does not apply to these constituencies."

Rule 2 is the rule requiring the number of electors in a constituency to be between 95 and 105% of the mean number of electors.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.2%
Con153 (+1 tell) 168.0%
Crossbench32 2931.6%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 176 (+1 tell)70.5%
LDem62 (+1 tell) 10 (+1 tell)75.5%
Other0 125.0%
UUP1 025.0%
Total:248 21958.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Trenchard Conaye
Best Crossbenchaye
Bew Crossbenchaye
Butler-Sloss Crossbenchaye
Clancarty Crossbenchaye
Craigavon Crossbenchaye
D'Souza Crossbenchaye
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchaye
Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Greenway Crossbenchaye
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchaye
Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchaye
Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Low of DalstonCrossbenchaye
The of MarCrossbenchaye
Martin of SpringburnCrossbenchaye
Masham of IltonCrossbenchaye
O'Loan Crossbenchaye
Palmer Crossbenchaye
Patel of BradfordCrossbenchaye
Rees of LudlowCrossbenchaye
Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchaye
Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchaye
The of SandwichCrossbenchaye
Slim Crossbenchaye
The of StairCrossbenchaye
Williamson of HortonCrossbenchaye
Young of HornseyCrossbenchaye
Dykes LDemaye
The of GlasgowLDemaye
Jolly LDemaye
Linklater of ButterstoneLDemaye
Maclennan of RogartLDemaye
Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemaye
Razzall LDemaye
Steel of AikwoodLDemaye
Teverson LDemtellaye
Thomas of WalliswoodLDemaye
Tyler LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive