Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Reduce Number of Members of the House of Lords Before Reducing Number of MPs — 9 Feb 2011 at 20:50

was absent

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted not to reduce the number of MPs until the number of members of the House of Lords has been capped.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 30A : Clause 18, page 15, line 34, at end insert-
  • "( ) Section 11 shall not come into force until legislation has been introduced into either House of Parliament limiting the number of members of the House of Lords."

Clause 11 of the Bill[2]; which would have become Section 11 of the resultant act, at the time of the vote sought to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600 and set out rules for reforms to constituency boundaries.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con112 (+1 tell) 7 (+1 tell)53.1%
Crossbench15 912.4%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 116 (+1 tell)46.6%
LDem64 (+1 tell) 066.3%
UUP1 150.0%
Total:193 13441.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Denham Conaye
Forsyth of DrumleanConaye
Glenarthur Conaye
Howe of AberavonConaye
Naseby Conaye
Northbrook Conaye
O'Cathain Contellaye
Tebbit Conaye
Clancarty Crossbenchaye
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Grey-Thompson Crossbenchaye
Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Low of DalstonCrossbenchaye
Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Patel Crossbenchaye
Patel of BradfordCrossbenchaye
Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive